The Best Links on Writing from July 6th

By way of an apology for my absence (this week was supposed to be “my” week, so no blame goes to Maeve) I have included my favorite links on the art of writing from the internet on today, July 6.

Stories from elsewhere 

Via the Economist (my favorite magazine right now, bar none). I affectionately refer to the woman with whom I live as my “older roommate” but this is not an entirely honest title — she is 82, and, like the heroines of so many formative Victorian novels I consumed when I was younger, I have been taken in as a boarder by an older single woman. When I told her about PBC (Proust Book Club, get with the acronym, folks), she somewhat disdainfully replied: “you’re reading it in English?” Well, yes… I am? My “older roommate” is a paradigm of matronly awesomeness; she joined the Peace Corps at 60 and speaks about 8 languages. And I can’t even read French. This article from the Economist’s book column discusses the scarcity of foreign books on the English market.

Can we figure out a ‘unified theory of writing’?

Via Poynter. What do the phrase “Jesus wept” and “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” have in common? No, it’s not that Jesus and Buffy are feminist messiahs, but apparently that contradiction is the secret to great language.

16 Fiction Book Characters’ Myers-Briggs Personality Types

I took the Myers-Briggs test once and I think it returned INTP. Which makes me… Mr. Ramsay from To The Lighthouse? Oh come ON, he’s up there for biggest d-bag in Modernisms…. and we all know that’s saying something.

10 Great Off-Kilter Love Stories in Literature

This one’s for you, Swann and Odette. Flavorwire looks at touching–albeit irreverent–love stories. If you’re anything like me you’ll probably start crying just looking at the dust jackets. Then again, you’re probably not that susceptible to waterworks… so just enjoy the eclectic, sad, and often undefinable capacity of love.

Leave a Reply

