The Proust Questionnaire: Maeve

 

Well, since Proust and Nora are doing it, I guess I may as well! To round out my reading of Volume One, here is my own Proust Questionnaire. I have decided, after much debate, to fill out the Vanity Fair version, which is an adaptation of Marcel’s original, but contains many of the same questions. Excuse any repetition or self-deprecation! It is a rather personal questionnaire.

What is your idea of perfect happiness? To sit on at a café table by the sea, preferably in Greece, with only a pen and paper, and not a care in the world.
What is your greatest fear? To be abandoned by those I love
Which historical figure do you most identify with? I’ve always loved Joan of Arc and Elizabeth I, but I don’t identify with either. Perhaps Virginia Woolf (minus the suicide).
What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? Being neurotic and insecure.
What is the trait you most deplore in others? Selfishness, not staying in touch.
What is your greatest extravagance? Food, without a doubt.
What is your favorite journey? Driving up I-95 and seeing the Manhattan skyline across the river.
What do you dislike most about your appearance? Currently, my haircut. Otherwise, probably my legs.
Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Like, sorry, really.
What is your greatest regret? My first relationship, that I did not end it sooner.
What or who is the greatest love of your life? Stay tuned.
When and where were you happiest? Here and now. But Crete was a close second.
Which talent would you most like to have? To be fluent in many languages.
What do you consider your greatest achievement? Getting through my parent’s divorce, learning to write.
If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be? Probably either a meerkat or a hummingbird.
What is your most treasured possession? Either my locket or my black sweater.
What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Dulles airport in August.
Where would you like to live? New York City (dreams come true)
What is your favorite occupation? Writing, laughing
What is your most marked characteristic? The way I talk: loud, fast, and without really breathing.
What is the quality you most like in a man? Intellect, the ability to write, a pretty face, and rolled up sleeves.
What is the quality you most like in a woman? Spark, intrigue, good conversation, good legs.
What do you most value in your friends? Loyalty and support, their ability to make me laugh.
Who is your favorite hero of fiction? Clarissa Dalloway
Who are your heroes in real life? My mother and Michael Colglazier
What are your favorite names? James, Amy, Michael, Lillian
What is it that you most dislike? The sound ice cubes make when broken apart, when I can’t get in touch with someone, adults who act like children.
How would you like to die? In my sleep
What is your motto? “Never a dull moment”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

